First 4K Tests!

This past weekend I took a trip to Ouachita Baptist University to watch the homecoming football game. Having recently upgraded to the new iPhone 6s, I took it as an opportunity to test the new video capabilities, namely 4K @ 30fps and 1080p @ 120fps. Take a look:

All the footage was brought into a 1920×1080 sequence in Premiere and each 4K clip is shown both at full size, and scaled down to 50% to fit in the window, which produces some beautifully detailed footage. The first two clips in black and white were shot 720p @ 240fps scaled to 100%.

While editing this video my mid-2012 MacBook Pro crashed two or three times, which is definitely a caveat when working with this resolution and also why the only color grading is a bit of black and white. Because of that, I don’t know that I’ll be using 4K on a regular basis, but it is definitely a good setting to have on hand in a pinch. The 1080 slo-mo, on the other hand, I’ll probably use a lot more. My Sony FS100 can only shoot 60fps at 1080p, so this phone even has a one-up on that professional-level camcorder (the FS100 was recently discontinued, but it’s still impressive).

Overall, I’m very impressed with the quality of the footage and I’m interested to see how well it integrates with the footage from my FS100 and Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera.

Music: Second Age by Michael Braudrick.

Leave a Reply

