Out of Pocket or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the (Color) Grade

Here’s some test footage from yesterday with my new Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera:

Lots of fun to use, although I probably should have heeded the warnings about shooting handheld, even with OIS. I used a warp stabilizer in Adobe Premiere which helped some of the time.

Shot with a Lumix 14-42mm in the “film” mode in the camera with ProRes HQ. All shots in the video show a before and after color grading, starting with the raw files and transitioning to the graded shot.

Graded with Davinci Resolve 10 Lite. It was my first time seriously using Resolve so I was mostly playing around with different looks, but I’m looking forward using it on more projects in the future. This camera does require a lot of color grading, as I attempted to demonstrate with this video, so anyone thinking about purchasing it should be aware that you will need more than a basic knowledge of digital color correction.

I would give a more in-depth review of the camera, but I would have nothing to say that anyone else who has reviewed the camera hasn’t already said. If you are looking for a review of the camera, here are a few links to reviews that I found useful when deciding whether or not to purchase this camera:

I’m excited to keep practicing with this powerful little camera. Future tests include trying out RAW and the timelapse settings, so stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

