Fog Machine Madness

About a week or two ago I came across this video by FilmRiot that runs through some of the various uses for fog in cinematography. It may seem kind of obvious why you would want to use fog: to make the shot look foggy, to add an eeriness or sense of unease to the shot, smoke or smog, et cetera. But the part I found interesting is when he talks about more subtle uses of fog to give more volume to the existing light in the shot.

After watching this, I obviously started thinking about all the different uses for an effect like that. There was even a shot in a project for SOLO that I was working on (which was later changed) that would have really benefited from the subtle day-time-haze effect that Connolly demonstrates in the “new home” shot. Not to mention that fog has always been one of my favorite ambient effects. Anyway, one thing led to another and I ended up with a fog machine a few days later.

So yesterday I decided to do some quick experiments with it to figure out how it works and see what I could come up with in about an hour with just one light. Here are some of the results:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All this is to say that it’s a really cool and versatile effect that I’m very excited to keep playing and experimenting with, and I even have a few projects in mind for the near future that this will undoubtedly come in handy for. But until then it’s a great asset to my film arsenal and it’s just a ton of fun to experiment with!

Leave a Reply

